You can’t believe everything you read in the Bible

The most influential man in my life, (besides Christ, of course) was my dad. His influence on me was void in the realm of Christianity, which I assumed was because he was raised in the Catholic Church and didn’t speak highly, nor much at all, about the God of the Bible. He was a man I looked up to and admired for many reasons, so when I accepted Christ as a 15 year old girl, I was excited to share my newfound Father with him. I’ll never forget the words he spoke on the front porch that day, the only words, and then the conversation was over. “You can’t believe everything you read in the Bible.”

My heart sank. The dad I adored didn’t share this affection for our Father and I was taken aback by how quickly he shut down. And when my dad was done with a conversation, he was done, period. It’s safe to assume that his distaste was more rooted in his view of religion, a view that colors, unfortunately, many a view on God. So there I was, standing with the man I’d worshiped (blasphemer!) for the first 15 years of life, and my first feeling was doubt after the wondrous feeling of faith.My doubt wasn’t in the faith I was sharing, but in the earthly father who shut the door on it. I did manage to get a quick response in before he walked away, saying “yes you can.” Childish, I know, but true nonetheless.

I can believe everything I read in the Bible, and so can you. If God has chosen you to be one of His, your faith opens that door as you open your Bible. Many “doubters” will use logic to introduce question into a correct view of the Bible, which is an ultimate infallibility, an above all things authoritatively, and a Spirit revealed clarity of the very words spoken by God. To use biblical proof to convey this truth may fall on deaf ears or blind eyes, but 2 Peter 1:16-21 encapsulates the belief that the God of the Bible I worship has revealed Himself throughout all of Scripture. Men didn’t make this stuff up as they went along, they didn’t suffer from mental deficiencies, and they didn’t record empty words and promises to deceive the world. But it is only by His Spirit that you can believe everything the Bible says. It was only by His Spirit that I was able to hear the heartbreaking words my dad spoke and stubbornly reject them.

God created the world in six days, and rested on the seventh (Genesis 1), He ended the lives of numerous firstborns on that Passover night (Exodus 11:4-5), He parted the Red Sea so that the Israelites could cross over in their exodus from Egypt (Exodus 14:21-22), He made Balaam’s donkey speak audible words (Numbers 22:28-30), He made the sun stand still (Joshua 10:13-14), He brought Elijah up to heaven in a whirlwind (2 Kings 2:11), He set Ezekiel in the valley of dry bones (Ezekiel 37), and so much more. If any of these testaments of God’s ability to do as He pleases, in His timing and using His chosen methods, brings even the slightest hint of doubt as to whether they actually happened or whether they’re only allegories, I would ask whether you entertain the same doubts with Christ, born of a virgin and resurrected from the dead?

The birth, life, death, and resurrection recorded in the history of Jesus Christ is fantastical, to say the very least. As a professing Christian, I believe all that the Bible tells me about the details God deemed necessary to share regarding our Savior. Now logically, there are things that don’t make sense to our human minds, but that is where the beauty is found in the faith of a believer. Hebrews 11 infamously describes this faith. Because I have not or cannot see something visibly, does not make it untrue. I loved my dad (who passed in 2009), but because there isn’t something tangible I can grasp onto to prove that I loved him so much doesn’t make that love something I question or doubt existed anymore than I question or doubt the intangible faith and love I have for God and the Word.

The God of the Bible is real, just as real as the dad He blessed me with here on earth.  Nobody and nothing can convince me otherwise and that conviction is a gift from Him.  Not even the words of my dear dad can change this reality. The longer I live, my thankfulness to God grows with me for this gift of unwavering and childlike faith. My dad may have looked at me like a naive child, but my Father doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

